Faculty & Lab Directory

FacultyAdministrationAuxiliaryEmeriti

Faculty

Contact Info

Research Interests

Laboratory

Jake Abbott Jake Abbott
Associate Professor
Office: 2016 MEK
Lab: 2156 MEK
jake.abbott@utah.edu
(801) 585-6672
Wireless magnetic control of microrobots
Medical robotics
Telemanipulation of novel systems
Haptics
Google Scholar Citations
Utah Telerobotics





Utah Telerobotics

Dan AdamsDaniel O. Adams
Professor
Office: 2580 MEK
Labs: 2407, 1176, 1186 MEB
adams@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-9807
Mechanics of composite materials
Damage mechanics
Micromechanics






Utah Composites
Tim Ameel
Dept. Chair, Professor
Office: 1580 MEK
Lab: Bldg. 60
ameel@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-9730
Microfluidics
Microscale thermal fluid phenomena
Microscale energy systems
Heat Exchangers
Mathematical modeling of thermal fluid systems
Google Scholar Citations
Microscale Thermal Fluids
AK BalajiA.K. Balaji
Associate Professor
Office: 2155 MEK
Lab: 0121 MEK
balaji@mech.utah.edu
(801)587-7772
Sustainable manufacturing
Interfaces between materials, mechanics, & manufacturing
Science of machining processes and modeling of machining performance
Design of advanced cutting tools
Sustainable Manufacturing
Donald Bloswick
Professor
Office: 1672 MEK
Lab: 2215 MEB
bloswick@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-4316
Industrial ergonomics
Occupational biomechanics
Rehabilitation ergonomics
Ergonomic applications & workplace designs for workers with disabilities
Google Scholar Citations
Ergonomics & Safety
Rebecca Brannon
Associate Professor
Office: 2112 MEK
Lab: 2010 MEK
rebecca.brannon@utah.edu
(801) 581-6623
Accuracy/stability/efficiency of plasticity models
Damage and failure (stability analysis, statistical uncertainty, size effects, and mesh-dependence)
Poroelasticity and poroplasticity
Google Scholar Citations
Computational Solid Mechanics
Marc Calaf
Assistant Professor
Office: 2547 MEK
Lab: 1285 MEK
marc.calaf@utah.edu
(801) 587-3253
Atmospheric Sciences and Turbulence
Hydrology
Fluid Mechanics
Wind Farms Physics
Google Scholar Citations






Wind, Energy & Turbulence
Jiyoung Chang
Assistant Professor
Office: 2557 MEK
Lab: 1351 MEB
jy.chang@utah.edu
(801) 581-7400
Wearable electronics
2-D materials
Multi-functional Near-field electrospinning
NEMS/MEMS
Google Scholar Citations
Wearable NEMS
Kuan ChenKuan Chen
Associate Professor
Office: 1157 MEK
Labs: 1371 & 2235 MEB
chen@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-4150
Thermodynamics
Heat Transfer
Fluid Dynamics
Micro System Technology
Acoustics & Vibrations
Brittany CoatsBrittany Coats
Associate Professor
Office: 2157 MEK
Lab: 1430 MEB
brittany.coats@utah.edu
(801) 585-0586
Understanding mechanisms of pediatric traumatic brain and eye injury in order to develop better prevention, diagnosis, and treatment strategies for children
Google Scholar Citations
Developmental Head Injury Biomechanics
Michael Czabaj
Assistant Professor
Office: 2571 MEK
Labs: 1176, 1186, 2407 MEB
m.czabaj@utah.edu
(801) 585-6226
Fracture and fatigue of composite materials
Durability and damage tolerance of composite structures
Micromechanics of composite materials
3D imaging using X-ray computed tomography
Google Scholar Citations






Utah Composites
Larry DeVriesK.L. DeVries (Larry)
Distinguished Professor
Office: 1656 MEK
Lab: 2151 MEB
kldevries@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-7101
Failure in materials
Material selection and substitution
Mechanical properties of polymers
Behavior of adhesive joints
Mechanical testing of materials
Biomaterials






Fracture & Adhesives
Mathieu Francoeur
Associate Professor
Office: 1563 MEK
Lab: 2285 MEK
mfrancoeur@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-8721
Radiation heat transfer
Nanoscale heat transport,
Photovoltaic and thermophotovoltaic energy conversion
Surface polariton coupling in nanostructures
Optical characterization
Google Scholar Citations

Radiative Energy Transfer
Henry Fu
Associate Professor
Office: 2563 MEK
henry.fu@utah.edu
(801) 581-4119
Low-Reynolds number hydrodynamics
Biomechanics and biophysics
Complex biomaterials
Microrobotics
Google Scholar Citations






Fluids and Biomechanics
Bruce GaleBruce Gale
Professor
Office: 3711 SMBB
Lab: 3800 SMBB
bruce.gale@utah.edu
(801) 585-5944
Microfluidics, MEMS, and nanotechnology applications in medicine and biology
Integrated microsystems for biomedical separations, sensing, and actuation
Micropumps, microvalves, and microsensors
Microscale DNA analysis systems
Google Scholar Citations






Utah Center of Excellence for Biomedical Microfluidics
Owen Kingstedt
Assistant Professor
Office: 2573 MEK
o.kingstedt@utah.edu
(801) 213-6975
Mechanics of materials for extreme environments
Mutli-length and time scale experimentation
Interfacial effects on macroscopic properties
Dynamic fracture and failure of advanced materials






High Strain-Rate Mechanics of Materials
Kam K. Leang
Associate Professor
Office: 1018 MEK
Lab: 1156
kam.k.leang@utah.edu
(801) 581-3450
Dynamic systems and control
Autonomous systems and robotics
Nanopositioning
Electroactive materials
Mechatronics
Google Scholar Citations







Design, Automation, Robotics & Control
Debra MascaroDebra Mascaro
Dir. of Undergrad Studies
Assist. Prof. (Lecturer)
Office: 1560B MEK
dmascaro@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-7687

Academic Advising, Lecturer
Stephen MascaroStephen Mascaro
Associate Professor
Office: 2020 MEK
Lab: 2028 MEK
smascaro@eng.utah.edu
(801) 581-7228
Robotics and mechatronics
System dynamics and control
Haptics
Sensors and actuators
Human-machine systems
Google Scholar Citations

BioRobotics
Pat McMurtryPatrick McMurtry
Professor
Office: 412 CME
Lab: 171 MEK
mcmurtry@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-3889
Fluid Mechanics
Numerical Simulation and algorithm development
Multi-material flows
Supersonic flows
Large Eddy Simulations
Google Scholar Citations
Sanford MeekSanford G. Meek
Associate Professor
Office: 2153 MEK
Lab: 2019 MEK
meek@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-9826
Modelling the effects of pelvis deformities in kidney function
Prosthetic arm design and control
Biocontrol systems
Robotics
Google Scholar Citations

Bio-Controls
Andrew Merryweather
Assistant Professor
Office: 1674 MEK
Lab: 2215 MEB
a.merryweather@utah.edu
(801) 581-8118
3D Motion Analysis
Lower Limb Joint Biomechanics
Occupational Injury Biomechanics
Ergonomics
Rehabilitation Engineering
Google Scholar Citations
Ergonomics & Safety
Meredith Metzger
Associate Professor
Office: 2543 MEK
Lab: Bldg. 60
m.metzger@utah.edu
(801) 581-5032
Experimental fluid dynamics with an emphasis on pollutant dispersion, turbulent mixing, and high Reynolds number turbulent boundary layer physics.
Development of experimental techniques and sensors for fundamental fluid dynamic and atmospheric measurements.

Turbulence & Renewable Energy
Mark MinorMark A. Minor
Associate Professor
Office: 2022 MEK
Labs: 0111, 0112, 2030 MEK
minor@mech.utah.edu
(801) 587-7771
Design, modeling, and control of mobile robots systems including ground based modular systems and under-actuated climbing robots. Key research topics include design optimization, motion planning, trajectory tracking.
Google Scholar Citations






Robotic Systems
Ken Monson
Associate Professor
Office: 1155 MEK
Lab: 4051 SMBB
ken.monson@utah.edu
(801) 585-5191
Traumatic brain injury
Blast injury
Cerebral vessel mechanics and mechanotransduction
Solid mechanics
Dynamics
Google Scholar Citations






Head Injury & Vessel Biomechanics
Steven Naleway
Assistant Professor
Office: 1545 MEK
steven.naleway@mech.utah.edu
(801) 213-6974
Bioinspired design
Biological material science
Green engineering
Structural mechanics and materials
Fatigue and fracture mechanics
Google Scholar Citations

Bioinspired Science and Engineering
Eric PardyjakEric Pardyjak
Professor
Office: 1011 MEK
Lab: Bldg. 60
pardyjak@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-6414
Fluid mechanics
Atmospheric turbulence
Urban fluid mechanics
Stratified turbulence
Google Scholar Citations

Environmental Fluid Dynamics
Keunhan (Kay) Park
Assistant Professor
Office: 2672 MEK
Labs: 1361 MEB; 2285 MEK
kpark@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-4260
Fundamental understanding of micro/nanoscale heat and mass transport
Tip-based nanoscale imaging, spectroscopy, and manufacturing
Synthesis and characterization of multifunctional nanoparticles for biomedical and energy applications
Google Scholar Citations

Micro/Nanoscale Energy Transport & Conversion
Bart Raeymaekers
Associate Professor
Office: 2677 MEK
Lab: 1449 MEB
bart.raeymaekers@utah.edu
(801) 585-7594
Nano- and biotribology
Design of medical devices
Precision manufacturing
Ultrasound sensor technology
Google Scholar Citations







Utah Tribology & Precision Engineering
Bob RoemerRobert B. Roemer
Professor
Office: 1543 MEK
Lab: 1430 MEB
roemer@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-7960
Applications of thermal sciences to biomedical problems






Bio-Heat Transfer/Injury
Shad Roundy
Assistant Professor
Office: 1153 MEK
Lab: 2240 MEB
shad.roundy@utah.edu
(801) 581-4304
Energy harvesting
Inertial sensing
Self powered wireless sensors
MEMS
Google Scholar Citations

Integrated Self-Powered Sensing
Amanda Smith
Assistant Professor
Office: 1151 MEK
Lab: 2121 MEK
amanda.d.smith@utah.edu
(801) 581-6485
Distributed energy technologies
Alternative energy systems
Building energy simulation
Energy efficiency
Thermal energy storage
Google Scholar Citations

Site-Specific Energy Systems
Ashley Spear
Assistant Professor
Office: 2151 MEK
Lab: 2010 MEK
ashley.spear@utah.edu
(801) 581-4753
Characterizing and simulating three-dimensional cracking in metallic structures
3-D finite element analysis
Concurrent multiscale modeling
Microscale characterization of metallic materials
High-energy X-ray diffraction microscopy (HEDM)
Google Scholar Citations

Multiscale Mechanics & Materials
Rob Stoll
Associate Professor
Office: 1012 MEK
Lab: Bldg 60; 1285 MEK
rstoll@eng.utah.edu
(801) 581-3405
Fluid mechanics in the environment
Computational fluid dynamics
Large-eddy simulation
Atmospheric boundary layer
Land-atmosphere interactions
Google Scholar Citations

Computational & Environmental Fluid Dynamics
Wenda Tan
Assistant Professor
Office: 2561 MEK
Lab: 1449 MEB
wenda.tan@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-2536
Manufacturing
Google Scholar Citations

Laser-Based Manufacturing
Kent Stewart Udell
Professor
Office: 1016 MEK
Lab: 1157 MEB
udell@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-0369
Contaminated aquifer restoration
Enhanced petroleum recovery
Fluid mechanics
Heat transfer
Mass transfer

Sustainable Energy
Roseanne Warren
Assistant Professor
Office: 2553 MEK
Lab: 1371 MEB
roseanne.warren@utah.edu
(801) 585-1758
Electrochemical energy storage
Photoelectrochemical water splitting
Atomic layer deposition
Carbon nanotubes
Transition metal oxides
Google Scholar Citations

Advanced Energy Innovations
Tim Ameel
Dept. Chair, Professor
Office: 1580 MEK
Lab: Bldg. 60
ameel@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-9730
AK BalajiA.K. Balaji
Associate Professor/Director of Graduate Studies
Office: 2155 MEK
Lab: 0121 MEK
balaji@mech.utah.edu
(801)587-7772
Debra MascaroDebra Mascaro
Assistant Professor (Lecturer)/Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: 1560B MEK
dmascaro@mech.utah.edu
(801) 581-7687

Auxiliary Faculty - Research

Elaine CohenResearch Professorcohen@cs.utah.edu
Sidney J. GreenResearch Professorsgreen@xmission.com
John HollerbachResearch Professorjmh@cs.utah.edu801-585-6978
James GuilkeyResearch Associate Professorjames.guilkey@utah.edu 801-581-87009
Todd HarmanResearch Associate Professort.harman@utah.edu 801-585-5145
Ian HarveyResearch Associate Professorirharvey@mech.utah.edu801-585-6162
Eberhard BambergResearch Assistant Professorbamberg@mech.utah.edu
Paul ClarkResearch Assistant Professorpaul.clark@hill.af.mil
Charles Elliott (Torch)Research Assistant Professorelliott@stress.mech.utah.edu
Jeremy GibbsResearch Assistant Professorjeremy.gibbs@utah.edu
Allison PayneResearch Assistant Professorapayne@ucair.med.utah.edu
Himanshu SantResearch Assistant Professorhimanshu.sant@utah.edu801-581-7719

 


Auxiliary Faculty - Adjunct

Rodolphe VaillonW. W. Clyde Visiting Chairrodolphe.vaillon@utah.edu
Arun GargAdjunct Professor
Benjamin GoldbergAdjunct Professorbenjamin.goldberg@atk.com
Kenneth HorchAdjunct Professork.horch@utah.edu
Joseph KlewickiAdjunct Professorjoe.klewicki@unh.edu
Joung Man ParkAdjunct Professorjmpark@mech.utah.edu
Kent BachusAdjunct Research Professorkent.bachus@hsc.utah.edu
Paul BorgmeierAdjunct Associate Professorborgmeier@mech.utah.edu
Don BrownAdjunct Associate Professordbrown@me.mech.utah.edu
Grant ClaytonAdjunct Associate Professorme5000@chcpat.com
Christopher DeemerAdjunct Associate Professor
Sam DrakeAdjunct Associate Professorsamuel.h.drake@gmail.com
Kurt HegmannAdjunct Associate Professorkhegmann@dfpm.utah.edu
Robert TuckettAdjunct Associate Professorbob.tuckett@m.cc.utah.edu
William ProvancherAdjunct Associate Professorwil@mech.utah.edu
Michael BlinnAdjunct Assistant Professoradk4ever@msn.com
Phillip DrinkausAdjunct Assistant Professor
John DrogeAdjunct Assistant Professorjohn.droge@hsc.utah.edu
K. Bo ForemanAdjunct Assistant Professorbo.foreman@hsc.utah.edu
Hanseup KimAdjunct Assistant Professorhanseup@ece.utah.edu
Kody PowellAdjunct Assistant Professorkody.powell@utah.edu
John SchmidtAdjunct Assistant Professorjohn.schmidt@utah.edu
Harold SearsAdjunct Assistant Professor
Richard SesekAdjunct Assistant Professorr.sesek@utah.edu
James StanfieldAdjunct Assistant Professor
Mark ThomsenAdjunct Assistant Professormandmthomsen@msn.com
Jur van den BergAdjunct Assistant Professorberg@cs.utah.edu
David HoeppnerEmeritus Professordhoeppner@comcast.net
L. King IsaacsonEmeritus Professorisaacson@mech.utah.edu
Gary M. SandquistEmeritus Professorgmsand@mech.utah.edu
Stephen R. SwansonEmeritus Professorswanson@mech.utah.edu
William Van MoorhemEmeritus Professorvan@mech.utah.edu